Zoom-Share Screen Options
While you in a Zoom meeting you can share:
- Your entire desktop
- A portion of your screen
- Device audio
- If you are a host, you have the freedom to share your screen at all times and have control over who can share your screen. To enable your guests to share their screens, follow these steps.
- If you are a zoom call guest, you can only share your screen when the host disenables participants’ ability to share the screen– ask the host to allow you to share your screen when you are stopped from sharing.
How to Share Your Entire Desktop or a Portion of Your Computer Screen
1.Begin by clicking on the Share Screen button on your zoom toolbar
2. Select one of the screen options:
On the Basic tab, you have a couple of options when sharing your screen.
Desktop 1: will allow the viewer to see your whole desktop screen, including your files on a desktop and your apps
Whiteboard: will allow you to draw instructions visually- can be useful for teachers to draw equations, math problems, graphs, etc.
New Tab(on the bottom of Desktop 1): will show anything that is only on the browser you are using, Google Chrome, Safari, Firefox, Internet Explorer, etc. This is helpful if you only want your audience to see your current tab on your browser and not your whole desktop.
Check to Share audio Computer Sound: when you click this option, any sound being played on your computer will be shared in the meeting(zoom). Clicking the bottom left corner checkbox will allow the sound to be clearer instead of just playing the audio on your own computer. Useful if you want your audience to hear music or listen to a video you will be playing.
Check Optimize Screen Share for Video Clip: This will allow you to share a video/movie on full-screen mode. Important: do not use this unless you will be sharing a video, or else it may appear blurry to your audience.
3. Click Share
- When you click Share, it will automatically share your screen with the audience in full-screen mode!
4. How to stop sharing: when you begin to share you will have a share screen toolbar appear, like this
- You can have your audio or camera on or off, while you share your screen.
- The pause share button allows you to freeze the screen for your audience so they can see the current screen, while you can do other things on your screen without your audience seeing every movement on your desktop.
- The bottom red tab “Stop Share” with the square, will allow you to stop sharing your screen.